On the second day of his French adventure with Cheryl et Roger, Ike set out from the town of Sourdeval to explore the countryside. His first stop was at the Moulin de La See, a former paper mill which operated between 1710 and 1880, before being converted to make bellows in 1907, and then a sawmill after the second world war.
After investigating the water wheel, Ike continued through woodland to come to the tiny Montfort Chapel which dates from 1850 and is dedicated to Saint Anne.
After a few more miles he then arrived in the village of Brouains with its large church dating from the 17th century. Inside he found the gravestone of a master paper maker and two ancient statues in front of the altar:
Finally, Ike returned to Sourdeval along a disused railway line – now converted into a ‘Route Vert’, before finishing in front on the old station building now converted into a house: